ARD512 Design Directions – Portrait final images

IMG_9711 IMG_9703

IMG_9701 IMG_9698

IMG_9721 IMG_9686

IMG_9662 bw IMG_9653 bw

Here are my final eight images for my portrait brief. I am very happy with how these have turned out. The first four photos have been taken in the studio using the same light but I’ve placed my subject in different positions. The light works well and creates silhouette type features on half the subjects body. The bottom four photos have been taken in natural surroundings when the subject wasn’t expecting the photos to be taken. The natural light has worked well in each of the images and has created interesting and eye catching photographs. I have also learnt the difference between a forced pose and a relaxed pose e.g. a forced pose would be one in a studio where the subject feels they have to pose and a relaxed pose would be one where they’re in their own comfort and in some cases are unaware of the photograph being taken. I decided to edit my images in black and white as I felt they were much more appealing to the eye than the coloured versions. I thought the black and white versions also worked well with the lighting in the photographs and I am very happy with how they look.

I have enjoyed doing this brief and I don’t believe there is anything I would change about the way I have gone about this brief. I am really happy with how my subject worked with me and feel that I am much more interested in portrait photography than I was to begin with.

Leave a Reply

