ARD512 Design Directions – Elegance of Decay/Broken Grandeur research

To research into elegance of decay I chose to look online and see what I could find. I found this blog,

https://hollycooperphotography.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/photography-elegance-of-decaybroken-grandeur/

This gave me a good idea of what the usual subjects are within the elegance of decay. The images that have been used on this blog and I can see how the photographer has created something beautiful out of something others would perceive as ugly. However, when reading the brief I thought instantly of dead/ageing trees, plants, leaves. E.g.

635578882356704240-vlcsnap-2015-01-26-16h53m02s12

http://www.wcnc.com/story/news/local/2015/01/26/charlottes-aging-trees-creating-a-danger/22369585/

I have planned to do my photography on this type of subject rather than using the usual subjects i.e. smashed windows. I want to use natural subjects because I find a type of sadness in seeing them ruined or growing old. There is however a real beauty in natural subjects growing old and decaying. I will go to Erddig in Wrexham to get my photos as Erddig has a big wood surrounding the grounds and I think I’ll be able to find some interesting things to photograph here.

Leave a Reply

